New York – Part Two

We cross the bridge in to Brooklyn. The first of the crowds are thin but enthusiastic. A church has spilled out early to cheer crowds, a local fire department is out cheering, the road widens and runners spread out. As we head further into Brooklyn the crowds become dense. Bands play, crowds hold banners, children chant and hold out hands for high fives. I think of Meghan, my purpose, my mission, my focus, the cause, the strength she has. I take deep breaths and take in each moment, drawing mental strength.

Mile five and I can smell food, good food, I want pizza! I take water at the next station. The guy handing it to me seems reluctant to let go resulting in most of it spilling over my glove. It’s ok, I’d gone for water early on the chance this would happen. Mile six I take my running energy blocks from my pocket and slowly chew on two. I take water at the next stop and feel strong again.

We run under a few road bridges, runners make whoop whoops to echo, cheering themselves on in a dry spell of spectators. I zone out for a while and wonder if Megz is watching at home. We run under some cameras and I smile and wave at them as if she can see me at home.

Mile 13 and we hit a bridge moving steady uphill. I slow down to pace myself out, then slow right down as I watch the horizon come to view. It is powerful and still. The bridge runs as two layers, we are underneath moving traffic. It is odd and as the view becomes clearer I slow down even further and realise the runners have gone silent in awe. Half way across the bridge and the cheers pick up again as the runners are consumed by the energy and lifted by the stunning scenery. Slowly we hear a loud rumbling roar. It is booming and breath-taking. It gets louder as we approach the end of the bridge. It is the crowds at the start of First Avenue. They are dense, happy, cheering, singing, dancing, waving, high-fiving…

It is mile 16. The slopes on the bridges have tired my legs earlier than I’d hoped. I am taken in by the crowds and see we are at about 64th street. This pleases me as I know Adam is waiting for me at about mile 19. He’s at 112th street  with an energy gel and water. I count the blocks as each one passes. I think in my head, only 25blocks and he’s there…

I look ahead of me, First Avenue is a sea of bobbing heads. It reminds me if Orange Day in Amsterdam, a sea of heads taking the main street for celebration. The New York pavements are lined with dense crowds, the sun beams down on the runners, the colour of shirts and banners line brightly as far as the eye can see, insignificant to the towering skyscrapers either side.

I decide to put my head down and focus on getting to Adam. This is the toughest part for me. It’s not a physical wall as such, I have energy. It is a mental wall. 17miles and things start to ache and hurt… still almost 10 to go… I walk a few times to take it in, jog backwards to see the runners coming toward me, high-five a row of school children and firefighters…

I think again about Megz. Can’t help but think I know where this journey ends, regardless of how tough. I can walk it if I have to. Megz has no end in sight right now. She hasn’t seen the finish line like me, she doesn’t know where or when it is…

 

Leave a comment